Mrs. Talley, Club Advisor in Ghana

talley pipe

I traveled to Ghana in January of 2011 with a group of UNC-G students on a 10 day mission trip to build a school in a small village outside of Kumasi. We were welcomed and blessed by the elders in the village at the time of our arrival. Our group carried blocks and water to the work site, dug out the foundation and other building chores, along with members of the village. When we rode the bus to the job site everyday, children would come out of their homes to wave at us along the way. We visited historical sites of the area and the many markets with African crafts, jewelry and fabrics on display. This trip was life changing for me in giving me a better perspective of the world and how other people live. I consider myself to be so fortunate to live in the United States, and I have a passion for helping others to make sure that all people have the basics of life; clean water, adequate housing, a safe environment to live in and access to a good education. I will do my small part, whenever I can, to make the world a better place, especially for “our” global children.

Leave a Reply

